

2010 MAN 22 BM C. O.

2019 JAN 23 PM 3: 35

SENATE STATE OF COLORADO DENVER

January 14, 2019

Jeffrey P. Ackermann, Chairman Colorado Public Utilities Commission 1560 Broadway, Suite 250 Denver, CO 80202 Frances A. Koncilja, Commissioner Colorado Public Utilities Commission 1560 Broadway, Suite 250 Denver, CO 80202

Dear Chairman Ackermann and Commissioner Koncilja:

We submit these comments in support of the filing last month by Delta-Montrose Electric Association (DMEA) asking the Colorado Public Utilities Commission to set a just, reasonable, and nondiscriminatory charge for DMEA's exit from Tri-State.

As members of the Colorado General Assembly who care about rural economic development and allowing *all* Coloradans access to less expensive power from local and diverse generation sources, we urge the Commission to strongly consider exercising its jurisdiction under Colorado law and setting an exit charge fair to both DMEA and Tri-State's remaining members.

We believe Articles 1 to 7 of Title 40 of the Colorado Revised Statutes apply to Tri-State as a generation and transmission cooperative corporation. The law says public utilities, like Tri-State, cannot demand unjust, unreasonable, or discriminatory charges. If they do, then the Commission may prescribe just and reasonable ones. DMEA's complaint says Tri-State refuses to give a just, reasonable, and nondiscriminatory exit charge, depriving rural Coloradans of access to less expensive and more diverse local generation that can serve as a catalyst for economic development on the Western Slope.

We look forward to monitoring the docket as it moves through the process and appreciate the Commission entering our comments into the record in Proceeding No. 18F-0866E.

Sincerely,

Senator Don Coram

Senate District 6 (DMEA Service Territory)

Representative Marc Catlin

House District 58 (DMEA Service Territory)

Representative Matt Soper

House District 54 (DMEA Service Territory)

Senator Kerry Donovan

Senate District (DMEA Service Territory)

Representative Julie McCluskie

House District 61(DMEA Service Territory)



President L	eroy Garcia
Senate Dist	rict 3/1

Senator Majority Leader Stephen Fenberg Senate District 18

Senator Jeff Bridges Senate District 26

Senator Lois Court Senate District 31

Senator Jessie Danielson Senate District 20

Senator Rhonda Fields Senate District 29

Senator Julie Gonzales Senate District 34

Senator Pete Lee Senate District 11 Senator Brittany Pettersen Senate District 22

Senator Kevin Priola Senate District 25

Senator Robert Rodriguez

Senate District 32

Senator Ray Scott Senate District 7

Senator Tammy—Story
Senate District 16

Senator Faith Winter Senate District 24

Senator Rachel Zenzinger

Senate District 19



Kc Becher	Monroe
Speaker of the House KC Becker	Representative Monica Buran
House District 13	House District 24
Um-Sums	10mg 2- 5
House Majority Leader Alec Garnett	Representative Tony Exum
House District 2	House District 17
Representative Jeni Arndt House District 53	Representative Edie Hooton House District 10
Representative Adrienne/Benavidez	Representative Rochelle Galin
House District 32	House District 50
Representative Shannon Bird House District 35	Representative Serena Gonza House District 4
Representative Bri Buentello	Representative Matt Gray
House District 47	House District 33
Representative Yashira Caraveo	Popular Chris Harran
	Representative Chris Hansen House District 6
House District 31	House District o



Representative Leslie Herod House District 8

em 1100 po

Representative Edie Hooton

House District 10

Representative Dominique Jackson House District 42

Representative Dafna Michaelson Jenet House District 30

Representative Chris Kennedy

House District 23

Representative Susan Lontine

House District 1

Representative Barbara McLachlan

House District 59

Representative Jovan Melton

L'House District 41

Representative Kyle Mullica

House District 34

Representative Dylan Roberts

House District 26

Representative Jonathan Singer

House District 11

Representative Emily Sirota

House District 9

Representative Marc Snyder

House District 18

Representative Rochella Galindo

House District 50

Representative Tom Sullivan

House District 37

Representative Brianna Titone

House District 27



Representative Alex Valdez

House District 5

Representative Donald Valdez

House District 62

Representative Mike Weissman

House District 36

Representative Kevin Van Winkle

House District 43