DISTRICT COUNCIL ACCOUNTABILITY AND CENSURE

PROPOSED BY CHRIS LAURENT 014

NOT ADOPTED

September 15, 2024

- Whereas, The Community Commission for Public Safety and Accountability (CCPSA) and the Police District Councils have a public duty, outlined in the Municipal Code of Chicago, 2-80-070(a) and (e), specifically, "Building stronger connections between the police and the community at the district level."
- Whereas Councilor David Orlikoff, who currently serves as the Community Outreach representative of the 14th Police District Council, has direct communication with members of the community, is viewed as the voice of the 14th Police District Council and continues to provide messaging counterintuitive to promoting the mission and goals of the CCPSA when he stated in an email to all CCPSA staff and personnel "Our job is to pass policies for CPD to follow. Not to follow their lead." This is a further violation of the Municipal Code of Chicago, 2-80-150, labeled Retaliation, obstruction or interference (specifically section (a), which states "No person shall retaliate against, punish, intimidate, discourage, threaten, or penalize any other person who serves or seeks to serve as a member of the Commission or District Councils, or participates or seeks to participate, in any capacity, in the work of the Commission or District Councils. No person shall knowingly interfere with or obstruct the Commission as the Commission carries out its powers and duties under this chapter.";
- Whereas for his time in office Councilor Orlikoff has continued to mistreat members of the CCPSA staff, launch vitriols against his District Council colleagues in a disrespectful manner and community partners he views as beneath him, a violation of the 14th Police District Council bylaws (Art. V, Section B) City of Chicago's personnel rules;
- Whereas on April 6, 2024, Councilor Orlikoff assaulted a colleague during a public monthly meeting which was clearly documented in a news article and a sustained video; and
- Whereas these actions of Councilor Orlikoff have aggrieved and office of elected Police District Councilor and his colleagues in the behavior this body deems reprehensible:

Now, therefore, be it Resolved, That—

- (1) the Community Commission for Public Safety and Accountability's Police District Council city-wide members censures David Orlikoff, Police District Councilor of the 14th Police District of Chicago, for conduct unbecoming of an elected Police District Councilor;
- (2) Councilor David Orlikoff will forthwith present himself in the well of the Quarterly Meeting for the pronouncement of censure;
- (3) Councilor David Orlikoff will be censured with the public reading of this resolution by the Chair Pro Tempe; and
- (4) under MCC 2-80-030, specifically item (7) *encourage preventative, proactive, community-based, and evidence-based approaches to public safety*, the Community Commission for Public Safety and Accountability shall conduct an investigation into Councilor David Orlikoff's conduct, misrepresentations, and abuses of his office, with all findings, determinations and suggested corrective action to be forwarded to the Chicago Board of Ethics and the Office of Inspector General.

District Council Accountability and Censure

Voted Yes	Voted No	Voted to Abstain
31 Councilors	26 Councilors	4 Councilors
Representatives of 18 District Councils	Representatives of 15 District Councils	Representatives of 4 District Councils
Majorities of 9 District Councils	Majorities of 11 District Councils	
Consensuses of 5 District Councils	Consensuses of 2 District Councils	

Vote Breakdown by Individual Councilors

YES	= 31	NO =	ABSTAIN = 4	
Adrienne Johnson	Kiisha Smith	Alexander Perez	Leonardo Quintero	Jocelyn Woodards
Jamie Brown	Michelle D. Page	Ephraim Lee	David Orlikoff	Ashley Vargas
Sarah Kammerer	Chris Laurent	Anthony David Bryant	Colleen Murphy	Arewa Karen Winters
Kenya Franklin	Carmelita Earls	Aisha Humphries	Anthony Tamez	Jacob Arena
Brenda Waters	Deondre' Rutues	David Boykin	Beth Rochford	
Gloria Jenkins	Colleen Dillon	Dion McGill	Jenny Schaffer	
Lovie Bernard	Dan Martin	Carlos Sanchez	Sam Schoenburg	
Robert McKay	Bob Johnson	Erin Vogel	Anna Rubin	
Thomas McMahon	Brad Kessler	Elianne Bahena	Deirdre O'Connor	
Ciera Whitaker	Karen Kane	Rosemarie Dominguez	Lee Bielecki	
Joseph Williams	Maurilio Garcia	Alees Edwards	Patrick Kennedy	
Teresa Chandler	Darrell Dacres	Bryan J. Ramson	Angelica Green	
Al Cacciottolo	Carisa Parker	Chloe Vitale	Saul Arellano	
Jason Huff	Marilyn Pagán-Banks			
Mark Hamberlin	Veronica Arreola			
Denise McBroom				

Vote Breakdown by District Council Representation

	YES = 18			NO = 15		ABSTAIN = 4
DC 001	DC 008	DC 016	DC 002	DC 010	DC 017	DC 011
DC 003	DC 009	DC 018	DC 003	DC 011	DC 019	DC 014
DC 004	DC 010	DC 019	DC 006	DC 012	DC 020	DC 015
DC 005	DC 012	DC 020	DC 007	DC 014	DC 022	DC 025
DC 006	DC 014	DC 022	DC 009	DC 016	DC 025	
DC 007	DC 015	DC 024				

Vote Breakdown by District Council Majorities

	YES = 9			NO = 11		ABSTAIN = 0
DC 001	DC 007	DC 016	DC 002	DC 011	DC 020	
DC 004	DC 008	DC 018	DC 006	DC 012	DC 022	
DC 005	DC 015	DC 024	DC 009	DC 017	DC 025	
			DC 010	DC 019		

Vote Breakdown by District Council Consensuses

	YES = 5		NO = 2	ABSTAIN = 0
DC 001	DC 008	DC 024	DC 002	
DC 004	DC 018		DC 017	