ALASKA



STATE LEGISLATURE

August 5th, 2024

State of Alaska Commissioner of Transportation P.O. Box 112500 3132 Channel Drive Juneau, Ak 99811-2500

Dear Commissioner Anderson,

We are writing to urge you to remove the proposed Amendment 1 to the State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), based on the risk it poses to next year's construction season and to funds administered by Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) in Fairbanks, Mat-Su, and Anchorage.

As participants discussed in this month's Anchorage Metropolitan Area Transportation Solutions (AMATS) Policy Committee meeting, proposed STIP amendments take funds from dozens of projects from around the state, produce delays that endanger next year's construction season, and propose an unprecedented amount of "Advance Construction" spending that obligates future federal match now. This proposal risks Department of Transportation and Public Facilities (DOTPF) raiding local MPOs' funds in the future while simultaneously robbing Alaskans of capital projects to solve safety needs of existing infrastructure.

With the Governor's recent vetoes to DOT&PF's highway maintenance needs, there is no clear path to uphold Alaska's commitment to USDOT's Stewardship and Oversight Agreement regarding maintenance of existing infrastructure investments, let alone new infrastructure projects that add maintenance and operational burdens to the system.

Instead of pursuing these STIP amendments that are risky for industry and the public safety of surface transportation users, we urge you to withdraw the proposed amendment and focus on correcting identified deficiencies in the STIP FHWA has already approved with projects supported through MPO Transportation Improvement Plans already adopted through public and transparent review.

Thank you for your consideration of this amendment

Respectfully,

tonest Junhan

Senator Forrest Dunbar

pr deuting

Representative Jennie Armstrong

Representative Zack Fields

Representative Andrew Gray

Representative Rebecca Himschoot

Colum Shar

Representative Calvin Schrage

Chu Bray Jockson

Senator Elvi Gray Jackson

Marine &

Representative Maxine Dibert

An Sali

Representative Alyse Galvin

Gal

Representative Cliff Groh

Undy Josephean

Representative Andy Josephson

andi Story

Representative Andi Story