

## DELAWARE GENERAL ASSEMBLY STATE OF DELAWARE 411 LEGISLATIVE AVENUE DOVER, DELAWARE 19901

June 26th, 2023

Erin Booker, LPC Chief Biopsychosocial Officer Vice President of Behavioral Health and Social Care Integration Christiana Care PO Box 1668 Wilmington, DE 19899

Dear Ms. Booker,

This letter is on behalf of Representatives and Senators from New Castle County that have deep concerns surrounding the recent cuts of School-Based Health Center services to schools throughout New Castle County as outlined in your letter dated May 10th, 2023.

We have received several letters from school nurses in multiple districts that the lack of these critical services will have a drastic impact on families and students. We also have learned that these cuts were made without discussion with the Division of Public Health and the school districts. Discussions with the Division of Public Health and school districts are essential when significant changes are being proposed to school-based health center operations. These changes represent a step back as we have worked to preserve and increase access to comprehensive service and coordinate care for these students, particularly for vulnerable populations.

School-based health centers represent a collaboration between local and community-driven partners such as community-based health services, local school districts, and the Division of Public Health that strives to support the physical and behavioral health needs of students.

We hope you would maintain this partnership by further engaging in discussions on how these services will be impacted and possible ways that they can be preserved. With many of our constituents and their families impacted by these cuts, we hope that the determination regarding these changes will be reversed and that we will be updated about this process as it moves forward.

Sincerely,

Kim Williams

State Representative

House Education Chair 19th District

Laura Sturgeon

State Senator

Senate Education Chair

4th District

Sherae'a "Rae" Moore

State Representative House Education Vice-Chair

9th District

Valer Lon, Rut Mill Rame

Open Microsoft 365 (Office)





Sherry Dorey Walter



Senate Education Vice-Chair House Majority Leader House Minority Leader 15th District 3rd District 21st District Sherry Dorsey Walker Nnamdi Chukwuocha Kendra Johnson State Representative State Representative State Representative 2<sup>nd</sup> District 5th District 1st District Debra Heffernan Larry Lambert Kevin Hensley State Representative State Representative State Representative 6th District 7th District 9th District Krista M.Z. Griffith Sean Matthews Jeffrey Spiegelman State Representative State Representative State Representative 10th District 11th District 12th District Franklin Cooke Sophie Phillips Michael F. Smith State Representative State Representative State Representative 18th District 22<sup>nd</sup> District 16th District

Edward Osienski State Representative 24<sup>th</sup> District Cyndie Romer State Representative 25<sup>th</sup> District

Madinah Wilson-Anton State Representative 26<sup>th</sup> District

h

David OS-hh

SHAI

Eric Morrison State Representative 27<sup>th</sup> District

David P. Sokola State Senator President Pro Tempore 8<sup>th</sup> District

David Q Sahl

John J. Walsh III

Sarah McBride State Senator 1<sup>st</sup> District

Spiros Mantzavinos State Senator

7<sup>th</sup> District

John "Jack" Walsh State Senator 9<sup>th</sup> District

CC: Secretary of Education Mark Holodick
Secretary of Health and Human Services Molly Magarik
Appoquinimink School District Superintendent Dr. Matthew Burrows
Brandywine School District Superintendent Lincoln Hohler
Christina School District Superintendent Dr. Dan Shelton
Colonial School District Superintendent Dr. Jeffrey Menzer
Red Clay School District Superintendent Dorrell Green
New Castle County Vocational Technical School District Dr. Joseph Jones