United States Senate WASHINGTON, DC 20510

June 13, 2023

Honorable Carlos Del Toro Secretary of the Navy Department of the Navy 100 Navy Pentagon Washington, D.C. 20350-1000

Dear Secretary Del Toro:

The Fiscal Year (FY) 2023 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA), signed into law on December 23, 2022, requires the Navy to maintain not less than 31 amphibious warfare ships, at least 10 of which must be amphibious assault ships (LHAs). The Navy's FY2024 budget and 30-year shipbuilding plan make it clear the Navy does not have a plan to meet this legal requirement, now or over the next 30 years. We note that the Senate Armed Services Committee received the most recent 30-year shipbuilding plan nearly four months after the FY2023 NDAA was signed into law, and less than 24-hours before the Department of the Navy's April 18, 2023 testimony, giving committee members and staff little time to review the plan and ask relevant oversight questions.

During your April 18, 2023 testimony before the Committee, a bipartisan group of Senators asked you about the Navy's failure to comply with the statutory requirement to maintain at least 31 amphibious warfare ships. You committed to come back to the Committee with a plan to adhere to the law. Specifically, you stated:

"Senator, you have my commitment that I will come back to you with a statement on how we can fix this."

At this time, you have not yet contacted the Committee to follow through on your commitment. As we reiterated during the hearing, the statutory requirement for the Navy to maintain 31 amphibious warfare ships is not a suggestion, but a requirement based on the assessed needs of the Navy and Marine Corps. The Navy's current plan not only violates the statutory requirement, but also jeopardizes the future effectiveness of the Joint Force, especially as we consider national security threats in the Indo-Pacific.

We request that you provide the Committee an updated shipbuilding plan no later than June 19, 2023. Alternatively, we request that you submit a plan to adhere to the statutory requirement before that date.

Sincerely,

Dar Sull

Dan Sullivan

United States Senator

1 m/C.

Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Roger F. Wicker

United States Senator

Mazi K Dias

United States Senator

Tom Cott

Tom Cotton

United States Senator

Kevin Cramer

United States Senator

Tommy Tuberville

United States Senator

Ted Budd

United States Senator

Eric Schmitt

United States Senator

M. Males &

M. Michael Rounds

United States Senator

R. Amt

Rick Scott

United States Senator

(all sopre stalling

Markwayne Mullin

United States Senator

Joe Manchin III

United States Senator

Deb Fischer

United States Senator

Set Discler