

# House of Commons Defence Committee

# Ministry of Defence Main Estimates 2014-15: Government Response to the Committee's First Report of Session 2014-15

**Eighth Special Report of Session** 2014–15

Ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 14 October 2014

### The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

### **Current membership**

Rory Stewart MP (Conservative, Penrith and The Border) (Chair)

Mr Julian Brazier MP (Conservative, Canterbury)

Rt Hon Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (Democratic Unionist, Lagan Valley)

Mr James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Mr Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Adam Holloway MP (Conservative, Gravesham)

Mrs Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend)

<u>Sir Bob Russell MP</u> (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Ms Gisela Stuart MP (Labour, Birmingham, Edgbaston)

Derek Twigg MP (Labour, Halton)

John Woodcock MP (Labour/Co-op, Barrow and Furness)

### **Powers**

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via <a href="https://www.parliament.uk">www.parliament.uk</a>

### **Publications**

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at <u>Defence Committee - UK Parliament</u>.

The Reports of the Committee, the formal minutes relating to that report, oral evidence taken and some or all written evidence are available in a printed volume. Additional written evidence may be published on the internet only.

### **Committee staff**

The current staff of the Committee are James Rhys (Clerk), Leoni Kurt (Second Clerk), Karen Jackson (Audit Adviser), Eleanor Scarnell (Committee Specialist), Ian Thomson (Committee Specialist), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), Rowena Macdonald (Committee Assistant) and Carolyn Bowes (Committee Assistant).

### **Contacts**

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5857; the Committee's email address is <a href="mailto:defcom@parliament.uk">defcom@parliament.uk</a>. Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

# **Eighth Special Report**

The Defence Committee published its First Report of Session 2014-15 on Ministry of Defence Main Estimates 2014-15 (HC 469) on 4 July 2014. On 2 September 2014 the Committee received a memorandum from the Government, which contained a response to the Report.

## Government response

Set out below is the Department's response to the conclusion raised by the House of Commons Defence Select Committee arising from their report The Ministry of Defence Main Estimates 2014–15.

### 3. Conclusion

15. The House should be aware that the MoD is requesting net resources of some £39.9 billion and capital expenditure of some £7.5 billion in its Main Estimate and net resources for the Armed Forces Pension and Compensation Schemes of £6.7 billion for 2014-15. Within the total requested the MoD has asked for some £0.8 billion to cover the cost of operations, some £1.5 billion less than in 2014–15 reflecting the drawdown of troops. Resource expenditure is also in line with the agreed Spending Review 2010. We recommend that the Main Estimates for the MoD and the Armed Forces Pension and Compensation Scheme are approved by Parliament. (Paragraph 15)

The Ministry of Defence appreciates the Committee's continuing support. The defence budget and the defence programme are in balance across the next ten years. We therefore have the assurance of a stable and well managed budget and confidence that defence is affordable and deliverable.