

## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## Office of Governor Tim Walz Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan

130 State Capitol ◆ 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd ◆ Saint Paul, MN 55155-1611 February 1, 2022

Mr. Joe Kelly Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Management Minnesota Department of Public Safety 445 Minnesota Street, Suite #223 St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Dear Director Kelly:

Based upon supporting documents provided to me by the Department of Public Safety – Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, I have determined that damage in certain areas of Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Steele and Wabasha counties resulting from severe thunderstorms that produced multiple tornadoes, damaging winds, rain, sleet, ice and snow on December 15, 2021 is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant the use of the State Public Disaster Assistance fund, as described under Minn. Stat. §12B.

In order to provide state public disaster assistance, I hereby designate you as my authorized representative so that you may:

- allocate such amounts as you find necessary for state disaster assistance from funds available for these purposes;
- provide public assistance in the designated area; and
- provide additional assistance if requested by a local government; and warranted by the results of further damage assessments, to the extent allowable under Minn. Stat. §12B.

Sincerely,

Tim Walz Governor

Cc: John Harrington, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Jim Schowalter, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Management and Budget

Tim Tjosaas, Dodge County Board Chair

Jim Elmquist, Dodge County Administrator

Matt Maas, Dodge County Emergency Management Director

Mitch Lentz, Fillmore County Board Chair

Bobbie Hillery, Fillmore County Administrator

Don Kullot, Fillmore County Emergency Management Director

Voice: (651) 201-3400 or (800) 657-3717 Website: http://mn.gov/governor/ Fax: (651) 797-1850

MN Relay (800) 627-3529 An Equal Opportunity Employer



## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## Office of Governor Tim Walz Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan

130 State Capitol • 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd • Saint Paul, MN 55155-1611

Christopher Shoff, Freeborn County Board Chair Thomas Jensen, Freeborn County Administrator Rich Hall, Freeborn County Emergency Management Director Greg Myhre, Houston County Board Chair Theressa Arrick-Kruger, Houston County Human Resources Director Mark Olson, Houston County Emergency Management Director Jeff Baldus, Mower County Board Chair Trish Harren, Mower County Administrator Amy Lammey, Mower County Emergency Management Director Mark Thein, Olmsted County Board Chair Heidi Welsch, Olmsted County Administrator Jon Jacobson, Olmsted County Emergency Management Director James Brady, Steele County Board Chair Scott Golberg, Steele County Administrator Kristen Sailer, Steele County Emergency Management Director Brian Goihl, Wabasha County Board Chair Michael Plante, Wabasha County Administrator Brenda Tomlinson, Wabasha County Emergency Management Director

Voice: (651) 201-3400 or (800) 657-3717 Website: http://mn.gov/governor/ Fax: (651) 797-1850 MN Relay (800) 627-3529 An Equal Opportunity Employer