

April 21, 2014

Members of the Board of Trustees, Kent State University Members of the Presidential Search Committee, Kent State University Members of the Faculty Senate, Kent State University Stan Wearden, Dean, CCI-KSU Thor Wasbotten, Director, School of JMC-KSU

We, members of the faculty of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University, write to express our objection to the way the university has handled the release of public records and the closed process relating to the recently completed presidential search. As a school committed to instilling in our students a strong appreciation for open government and the right of the press and the public to engage in effective oversight of government agencies, we believe the university's actions are in contradiction to both those principles and the values embodied in the Ohio Public Records Act. We strongly urge the University to immediately release all records covered by the Act, including those held by the University's search firm, and to pledge that all future executive searches will be conducted in strict compliance with the Ohio Public Records Act and the Ohio Open Meetings Act and reflect our institutional commitment to transparency.

Journalism Sequence Chair Jan Leach, associate professor Former editor and vice president, Akron Beacon Journal

Candace Perkins Bowen, associate professor Director, Center for Scholastic Journalism

John Bowen, adjunct professor Journalism Education Association Scholastic Press Rights Chairman Beth Butler, assistant professor Former news editor, Post Register, Idaho Falls

Frances L. Collins, associate professor Member, AEJMC Law & Policy Division

Mark Goodman, professor and Knight Chair in Scholastic Journalism Former director, Student Press Law Center

Fred F. Endres, professor emeritus Former Director of Editorial Services, Merkle Press, Inc., Washington D.C.

Michele E. Ewing, APR, associate professor Former vice president of public relations, Marcus Thomas, Ilc.

Jeff Fruit, professor Former editor and publisher, American City Business Journals

Gary Hanson, professor Former chair Radio-Television News Directors Association Former news director, WKBN-TV, Youngstown

Barbara J. Hipsman-Springer, professor emeritus Former Statehouse bureau chief, The News-Democrat

Karl Idsvoog, associate professor Former vice president of project development, APBnews.com

Cheryl Kushner, assistant professor Former entertainment editor, Newsday

David Labelle, lecturer Former AME/photo, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Jacqueline Marino, associate professor Former associate editor, Cleveland Magazine

Mitch McKenney, associate professor Former assigning editor, Akron Beacon Journal

Stefanie Moore, assistant professor

Gordon Murray, associate professor

Former director of new media Danielle Sarver Coombs, associate professor and undergraduate coordinator

Ann Schierhorn, professor

Carl Schierhorn, professor emeritus

Gene Shelton, associate professor Former reporter

William E. Sledzik, associate professor Former president, Sledzik & Associates Public Relations

Timothy D. Smith, professor emeritus Former managing editor, Akron Beacon Journal Federico Subervi, professor

A.B. Whaley, Ph.D.

Traci Easley Williams, associate lecturer

Susan Kirkman Zake, assistant professor Former managing editor for multimedia and special projects, Akron Beacon Journal